Article begins

The Society for the Anthropology of Work is seeking nominations for its 2019 book prize.

The SAW Book Prize will be awarded this year to a single- or co-authored monograph (not an edited collection) published during the last three years. The criteria are relevance for the anthropology of work; significance of the research; clarity and effectiveness of the presentation; and appeal to a wider audience in anthropology and beyond. Preference will be given to books that are based on fieldwork and that have not received another award or prize.

Submissions are due by May 31, 2019.

The selection committee consists of members of SAW. We invite nominations in all four subfields from scholars, book editors, and publishers, including self-nominations. The prize will be awarded at the business meeting of the Society for the Anthropology of Work at this year’s American Anthropological Association Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, November 20–24.

Submissions are due by May 31, 2019. Please send an email to co-chairs Eve Hochwald and Jim Weil describing the book’s contribution to the field, accompanied by reviews, if available. You then will be asked to send copies of the book to the committee members. The prize winner will be announced before August 1, 2019.

Past award recipients

2018: Penny McCall Howard for Environment, Labour and Capitalism at Sea: “Working the Ground” in Scotland (2017)

2017: Susana Narotzky and Victoria Goddard, eds. for Work and Livelihoods: History, Ethnography and Models in Times of Crisis (2017)

2016: Angela Stuesse for Scratching Out a Living: Latinos, Race, and Work in the Deep South (2016)

2015: Rebecca Prentice for Thiefing a Chance: Factory Work, Illicit Labor, and Neoliberal Subjectivities in Trinidad (2015)

2014: Karen Tranberg Hansen, Walter Little, and B. Lynne Milgram (eds.) for Street Economies in the Urban Global South (2013)

2013: Seth Holmes for Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies: Migrant Farmworkers in the United States (2013), co-winner

2013: Noelle Molé for Labor Disorders in Neoliberal Italy: Mobbing, Well-Being, and the Workplace (2011), co-winner

2012: Carrie Lane for A Company of One: Insecurity, Independence, and the New World of White-Collar Unemployment (2011)

2011: Ann Kingsolver and Nandini Gunewardena (eds.) for The Gender of Globalization: Women Navigating Cultural and Economic Marginalities (2008)

2010: Frances Rothstein for Globalization in Rural Mexico: Three Decades of Change (2007)

Bryan Moorefield and Liza Youngling are contributing editors for the Society for the Anthropology of Work.

Cite as: Moorefield, Bryan, and Liza Youngling. 2019. “Call for SAW Book Prize Nominations.” Anthropology News website, April 8, 2019. DOI: 10.1111/AN.1131